Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Ken Stephenson Elected AAAS Fellow

Ken Stephenson was elected this year as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Ken was one of only 8 mathematicians elected nationally this year.

Ken’s letter from the AAAS stated:

“Each year the AAAS Council elects members whose ‘efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.’ The honor of being elected a Fellow of the AAAS began in 1874 and is acknowledged with a certificate and rosette.

You are being honored for distinguished contributions to analysis and geometry, particularly the development of the circle packing algorithm and the theory of discrete analytic function theory.”

Ken was inducted as an AAAS Fellow at this year’s annual meeting in Washington, DC on Feb. 19, 2011.

Ken is one of 7 from the College of Arts and Sciences (one of 8 in UT) elected as an AAAS Fellow this year. More information can be found at

Ken is the third member of the Math Department to be elected as an AAAS Fellow in recent years. Bob Daverman was elected in 2009 and Suzanne Lenhart was elected in 2010.